Thing 15 – Explore Social media sites such as Digg, Reddit, Newsvine, Mixx, and StumbleUpon

I know a number of people that swear by StumbleUpon and I have played with it a bit. I have found some pretty wacky stuff on there.I find it more fun than Digg or Reddit.
I see Digg or Reddit more as news sites which is fine. Both sites enable voting which if you like a certain page/story, you can Digg it or vote up; if you don’t like something you can kind of push it down/bury the story. It is definitely democratic but then, democracy has its flaws.
That is probably one of the negative aspects of some social media tools. You can have a tyranny of trolls and rabble. If I had to choose one to use, I would probably pick StumbleUpon since it seems more personalised which is probably another reason why I like Pandora more. It seems almost “magical” but undoubtedly it is a sophisticated search algorithm and well, they fascinate me.

Published in: on October 31, 2008 at 3:11 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://heightswidget.wordpress.com/2008/10/31/thing-15/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

