Thing 14. Check out My Maps on Google Maps

In the past 23 Things blog for the Innovations Team, I did my own map of places that were central to my childhood. Thing 14. Check out My Maps on Google Maps

I’m not sure if this could potentially count for my own 23 Things blog post. Nonetheless, I’m going to use a little bit of that.

Although this entry is supposed to be about My Maps, I’m also going to throw in links to Top 15 Google Street View Sightings and 17 Google Maps mashups. They are pretty funny and cool.

And lest we forget the Summit Cheeseburger Map! Check out the blog here: Summit Cheeseburger

As I stated in the Innovations post, there are many different uses for My Maps. One can create a map of thrift stores in the Greater Cleveland area and share that with others. Maps of Toynbee tiles. I see this as one way the average person can be a cartographer for things that matter most to them.

A blog of maps could be one week a map of favourite restaurants in Cleveland Heights or University Heights and the next week could be a map of parks in Cleveland Heights or University Heights.
So many possibilities. And what’s cool about it is that you can share the maps. Therefore, others can see what interests you and it’s all social.

Published in: on October 31, 2008 at 10:10 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://heightswidget.wordpress.com/2008/10/31/thing-14/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

