Thing #6 – Locate a few useful library-related blogs and some blogs or news feeds that interest you.

Some of my favourite library blogs are:

  • Aaron the Librarian – Aaron Dobbs, fellow ALA Councilor at Large and Systems Librarian at Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania. Gregarious change agent.
  • Information Wants to be Free – A giant in the user centered library & web services, Meredith Farkas.
  • Librarian.net – Jessamyn West. Wow..just go read the article about her on Wikipedia.  I’ll wait. Now, you can see why I find her to be so amazing.
  • Library Alchemy – L.A. Vrabel – A really great friend from graduate school that has some amazing insights into users services and library science.
  • LibraryTechtonics – Andrea Mercado is a fireball of new media fantasia. She’s been a driving force of knowledge and looking at services in a different way. If you ever meet her, you will fall in love with her energy and desire to improve/shake up the library profession.
  • Miss-Information – I’ll end this list with a really snarky blog that is not how I would react but then again…there are days when I can completely understand where she is coming from.

As for the other part of “some blogs or news feeds that interest me”, I think I covered that in my last post. It can be very easy to get overwhelmed by feeds and I try to ensure that I don’t get too bogged down. I read my friend’s blogs and various professional blogs. I have a wide variety of interests such as technology, foodie type things, music, art, science…well, I’m a librarian. I love knowledge in all of its forms.

The key is not to get carried away by it all. I’m still learning and I guess that’s what this process is all about.

Published in: on August 1, 2008 at 11:05 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://heightswidget.wordpress.com/2008/08/01/thing-6/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

