Thing #3 – First post!!

I guess my first post jumps right to Thing 3. I’ll be through this before I know it! πŸ™‚

I’ve been looking forward to doing the 23 Things. I’m familiar with a lot of them but I anticipate that I’ll be learning a bit here and there.

Things to consider this week are the Seven and 1/2 Habits of Highly Successful Lifelong Learners.

Habit 1 – Begin with the end in mind
One “end” could be completing all of the 23 Things. Ticking and tallying them up. Another could be the learning experience. I guess I’m looking at it from both ends. I anticipate learning things and the 23 Things will serve as a guide of what tools I’ll be exploring.

Habit 2 – Accept responsibility for your own learning
Who else is going to learn this stuff? I also accept that this is here for me to learn. If I don’t do it, I am not going to learn now, am I?

Habit 3 – View problems as challenges
I already adhere to this habit. As the Chinese proverb/curse goes, “May you live in interesting times.” I enjoy a challenge and think that this project is going to be not only fun but at times interesting.

Habit 4 – Have confidence in yourself as a competent, effective learner
If I don’t think I can do it, I won’t do it. I know that I get frustrated and angry with myself if I can’t pick up something right away. I think the first thing to foster is the feeling that it’s ok to stumble and not “get it”…especially me.

Habit 5 – Create your own learning toolbox
I picture this like creating my own crayon box with the my favourite colours. But then, we all need to have a mix of tools. One doesn’t typically draw a landscape with just reds and you can’t build a house with a bunch of screwdrivers. I will relish these new crayons and paints to chose from.

Habit 6 – Use technology to your advantage
I love technology. I see technology as a tool for us to enhance our lives. Indeed, we can get bogged down by the various things that pull for our attention. Nevertheless, I anticipate that the tools included in the 23 Things are ones that can enhance my life and well, if they don’t…I’ll definitely post about it.

Habit 7 – Teach and mentor others
I love helping others. If there is another staff member or 23 Things person out there that has questions, needs help learning one of the 23 Things, etc. drop me an email: aharmon@heightslibrary.org

Habit 7 1⁄2 – PLAY!
This is going to be so much fun!!

Also, here’s my avatar from Yahoo!:

Published in: on July 9, 2008 at 8:06 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://heightswidget.wordpress.com/2008/07/09/starter-post/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

